Reading Out Loud at the Big Weekend

I was very luck to be a part of the Big Weekend in Cambridge, I volunteered to read stories to children in the Big Read Tent    I love reading out loud to children and it was a joy and a  real pleasure to do this.  I went along armed with some of my favourite illustrated books and did my half an hour on the stage (chair) doing something I love.

Cambridge Big Weekend 2017 (55 of 94)

 

The tent we were in was lovely and colourful and also a welcome relief for the parents and children from the very warm, sunny weather outside.  So with my ‘captive audience I read a variety of books and all fabulously illustrated my set list as follows

‘Ernest’ and ‘Augustus and his Smile’ by Catherine Rayner,

 ‘Puffin Peter’ by Petr Horacek,

‘Something Else’ by Kathryn Cave and Illustrated by Chris Riddell

‘Tidy’ by Emily Gravett

‘Crunch’ by Carolina Rabei

I had a wonderful  time and loved looking at the faces of my audience where some of them just had wonder in their expressions.

Cambridge Big Weekend 2017 (40 of 94)

Little Cat came along as my mentor and manager, making sure I stayed on track.

Cambridge Big Weekend 2017 (52 of 94)

Reading out loud to children is so important they hear stories being read and get to share with others,  it is also seeing that books are valued and stories mean something.    I was involved with Empathy Day earlier in June and it is was about raising awareness that   empathy can be understood through books and  by ensuring that children understand this and be aware of the thoughts and feelings of others  we can hopefully make our world a better place.

Cambridge Big Weekend 2017 (35 of 94)

I have to thank my son James for the photos as he came along with me,  I also embarrassed him a little as I introduced him to the audience and told them he had come to listen to his Mum reading out loud.

Also thank you to the wonderful Rae Snape for organising the Big Read Tent and the flamingo’s which now haunt me.

But that is another story!

 

 

2 comments on “Reading Out Loud at the Big Weekend

  1. Joan Pickford says:

    What a great thing to be part of.

Leave a Reply

