Little Cat and the Linton Children’s Bookfest 2016

Linton Children’s Book Festival Saturday

Well what a day and it is only day one, I was lucky to be a part of the Book Festival in Linton, Cambridgeshire and I was exhausted at the end but my did I see some inspirational people.  Little Cat loved hobnobbing with the great and the good, the place was full of children and their families and the place was buzzing.  It is wonderful seeing people engaging with books and the written word and enjoying themselves.    I have only mentioned a few of the things I got to see but there was so much more.

I saw John McCambridge,  he drew some amazing dragons and all the children and adults involved were hooked, he was such a good speaker and I left just wanting to go and draw.

Listened to SF Said talking about his books Varjak Paw and  Phoenix,   he was a great speaker and made me smile as he told us about the amount of drafts it takes to make a great book.   I do believe Little Cat thinks he is the ‘bees knees’ as Varjak Paw is his hero.

I shed a tear when listening to the wonderful Martin Impey as he explained why and how he made the wonderful collection of books about World War I. ‘Where the Poppies Grow’ ‘The Christmas Truce’ and ‘Flo of the Somme’.    Such beautiful illustrations with the words of Hilary Robinson.  If you ever get a chance to see him do,  it is a real treat!

And last but not least I met the wonderful AF Harrold.  Poet, writer and performer and what a charming person he is.   Loving the poetry book I got him to sign ‘Things you find in a poet’s beard’.

The event is all free and it is a great community event being held at Linton Village College, this is where I am the librarian.   The volunteers and organisers  who mainly come from the village are the unsung heroes and without them this wonderful event would not happen,  so all they do is very much appreciated.   It is wonderful seeing people engaging with books and the written word.

Well  off to see more today!   I hope you all have a lovely Sunday, I know I shall 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

