Poppies

Poppies, what amazing flowers, I love the paper like quality of their petals and when these have fluttered and fell away we are left with the seed heads. They in turn, dry out and change colour and if you pick one they make a musical rattle full of black little seeds.ImageImageImage

ImagePoppies in a local field last year

I passed a field which was edged with poppies this morning, but unfortunately didn’t have my camera, as when dog walking it is difficult to hold leads and focus a camera. So have given up multitasking on these occasions. But I dug out this photo from last year and it reminded me of the significance of the poppies. (Remembrance Day Poppies) I looked at the linked site and found it inspiring and fascinating that a flower can symbolize so much!

5 comments on “Poppies

  1. Gorgeous flowers, with such amazing variety. I love the photo’s. Hope all is well with you and the weather in the fens is not too soggy.

  2. ruthkeys says:

    Thank you Charlotte, the sun is shining at the moment! I hope your weekend goes well at Sherwood Arts Week 🙂

  3. knitsofacto says:

    Fantastic images of fabulous flowers. I have come to realise since I began blogging how much flowers mean to me, I seem to write about them a lot. I must try and snap some shots of the wild poppies in the fields just now. Lovely post.

  4. claire says:

    Hey Ruth, aren’t Poppy seed heads wonderful. I saved some a couple of years ago and still have them sitting in a little cut glass bottle, they make me smile…..
    I planted some Poppies during the week, the remind me of my childhood ( a friends mum used to grow them) I love that mauve Poppy, such a gorgeous colour.
    Hope you are having a lovely weekend, despite the weather….

    CLaire :}

  5. MILLY says:

    You always capture such beautiful flowers. We don’t really have the wild red poppies here and they do look stunning growing in meadows. Lovely post Ruth.

Leave a Reply

